Posted by: jesshistory2 | October 5, 2009

Researching German Ancestors

Although I have German ancestors, I haven’t done a lot of research into my German ancestors, when it comes to German records. So far, I have only been able to trace a couple of branches back to their town or village of origin. Before I go any further, I must state that a family tree had been done previously on one of the families. I am still going through and reconfirming the information since I don’t have the original researcher’s notes, and I do not know what records he used. I must also mention that in going through the data, I have come across errors, especially when it comes upon information on people who lived in the United States. The errors are exactly why I am going over the information, and the arrangement of the branches make determining relationships very difficult. The tree is completely in German, and even though that is not a major problem for me, there are German words that I have come across that I can’t find in my German dictionaries.

So, what have I done to confirm or disprove the information on the tree? I have used obituaries, passport applications, passenger ship lists, marriage records and death certificates. Of course, this isn’t an exhaustive list, but as I am still working on determining where most of my German ancestors came from, I’m still looking for more records.

Originally posted on November 30, 2007.

Responses

  1. Hi Jess,
    If you need help with your translations from German to English just let me know. I will be glad to assist you. 🙂
    Kind regards, silke


Leave a Reply

Categories

